Time Stealer

We went out of town, sipped a cup of coffee over a cool breeze of fresh unpolluted air.

We shared stories, breakthrough, highlights and failures of the past year.

We reflected on all the good things He had done on our lives.

We have realized that our pain are part of character building. We mourned over our hurt and failure but was also grateful that it is just for a season.

But as one person is speaking, I can’t help but notice how disengaged we are in the conversation:

We are busy selfie-ing;

Some are playing Candy Crush;

Some are surfing;

Some are doing all other stuff on their gadget.

We seemed to be too distracted to listen;

We seemed to be too busy to drop our phones and savor the moment;

The games we need to level up seemed to be more important than our friend confiding her deepest experiences;

The pictures we took needs to be posted immediately than listen to the person pouring her heart out;

The messages, likes and comments of our virtual friends seemed to be too interesting than fully engaging in the conversation with the people just within our reach.

We hide our lack of attention by nodding.

We call our lack of attentiveness, multi-tasking.

We seemed to be physically present but our mind wander within the world of virtuality.

I grieved on how smartphone and tablet takes over the exciting personal conversation we could have with our loved ones.

My overly critic mind wants to grab our stuff and force ourselves to listen and sink into the conversation.

My laid back personality tells me to shrug it off.

But my thoughts were so eager to come alive and breath through this post.

I hate it when my friends don’t give their full attention when we go out together.

I hate it whenever they browse the net instead of starting a conversation.

I hate it when they post a picture and/or status instead of listening intently on what someone is about to share.

I hate it when my parents are too busy on Facebook instead of asking how my day went.

I hate it when my friend is half listening because he/she is playing Candy Crush.

I hate it when they laugh over an FB post than laughing over my jokes (ok, this is now getting too personal). 😉

I hate it when they take long calls when we’re together.

But I hate myself for hating them for I am as guilty as they are.

We went over dinner with my family. While waiting for our food to be served, instead of breaking the ice and engage them into a deep and meaningful conversation, I choose my phone and browse stuff in it.

My smartphone seemed to be more entertaining and exciting than those precious moments I have with my family.

I let my smartphone steal the time I have with them.

My nephews are nearby, nudging me to watch them play. They’re getting my stuff and ask me to teach them how it works. Instead of letting them learn and watch how much their creativity could stretch, I push them aside and tell them to keep quiet as I am busy–texting.

I give my full and undivided attention to my smartphone than my nephew who seeks attention and love.

I let my smartphone consume those they-will-only-be-kid-once-moments with my nephews.

I’m with a friend but I still take not-so-emergency-long-calls from others.

My physically-present-friend don’t seem to be as important as the other person on the call.

I let my smartphone take priority.

My sister is so excited to tell stories of her life yet I’m busy checking on my blog post stat.

My virtual life seemed to be my priority.

I let it steal the time I could spend with my sister.

I am guilty.

I hate it.

It is easier to grab my phone than cheer my nephews.

It is easier to browse the net than start a conversation with my parents.

It is easier to play a game than answer my dad on how much does my new phone costs (no, it’s not too expensive but seems like everything to him is. Ü).

It is more exciting to know how many checked on my blog post than hear the stories of my sister.

It is easier to text my friends than share to my mom where have I gone and what are the exciting things I did.

My friend on the other line is much more easier and light to talk to than engage my not-so-talkative-friend in a conversation.

I choose what’s easy and do not grasp what really matters.

Those moments with my family and friends may never happen again.

I miss the opportunity to sow love on people that matters to me.

Instead of using the time together to create lasting memories, I waste it and choose my smartphone instead.

I need to stop.

I need to prevent these time-stealers waste the precious time I have with my loved ones.

I need to choose what matters.

My parents matter to me more than my virtual friends–or my fear (or is it pride?).

My nephews matter to me more than texting and stuff.

My sister matters to me than my blog stat.

My friends matter to me more than the games I need to level up and/or the status I need to post.

The relationship with my loved ones matter.

The long calls can wait.

The game can wait.

The blog stat can wait.

The pictures and status post can wait.

My virtual friends definitely have their own business.

I need to grasp the present and savor the moment with the people I am presently with.

I need to drop my phone and fight the temptation on checking who liked my posts whenever I am with someone.

I need to be fully present and give my undivided attention to whoever I am with.

That’s how I can best communicate love.

That’s how I prevent time to be stolen and wasted.

That’s how I vow to love others.

And that’s how I also felt loved.

I may fail. But I’ll always try again.

Until it becomes a habit.

Until it becomes my lifestyle.

3 thoughts on “Time Stealer

  1. whaaa.. yesterday may nakasalubong kami sa shang.. a mom with her 3 or 4-year old boy.. mom was busy with her phone while walking..

    young boy: mom, can i hold your hands?
    mom: later (seemingly irritated)

    eun and i felt for the young boy.. how sad reality 😥

    Like

Leave a Reply

