The Gospel and My Dream

Some people claim that we can be Christians without necessarily becoming disciples. I wonder, then, why the last thing Jesus told us was to go into the world, making disciples of all nations, teaching them to obey all that He commanded? You’ll notice that He didn’t add, “But hey, if that’s too much to ask, tell them to just become Christians—you know, the people who get to go to heaven without having to commit to anything.” ~ Crazy Love by Francis Chan

Hey that was harsh yet true. It hit a nail right in my head. 

I used to have this attitude to never ask my friends to go with me to church because I don’t want to inconvenience them. You know, I’d like to go on my own way and they might have a schedule of their own. Besides, I don’t want to be rejected.

After all, I respect what they believe in and I want them to respect mine.

It’s as good as saying that I know a cure for cancer but hey, I don’t want to waste your time by asking you to come with me and take some. You might not believe anyway.

Selfish, right?

As I’m reading this book, I realized how false my mindsets are and how shallow my views are towards God.

I had a dream.

In my dream, we are in a place where we will be sharing the Gospel. We are a group of 10 to 15 people passsionate to God and sharing His love to others. Within the group, I met a godly man who can be my potential husband. However, somewhere in our discussions, he made a negative remark towards my physical appearance. And I was hurt. I prayed and asked God to heal me from this man’s remark and deal with my heart to focus on Him and our purpose why we are there. My heart tends to wander around and throw my perspective out of balance. 

As I was praying, I felt the need to pray for the full time missionaries who boldly answered the call of God to go into the nations. Then the leader of our group asked me: Jai, do you have a word? Implying that I should lead the prayer. 

Then I woke up.

It is no coincidence that the word I am reading is about commiting 101% to Christ (and that includes sharing the gospel) and my dream is about going on a mission trip and praying about the nation.

Though the dream also showed me that I will be married to a godly man (for the Lord knows what’s in my heart and He is sweet like that), it is mostly about challenging me to trust Him–fully, without hesitation–for He will use me for His glory.


PS: The Lord is redeeming my dreams. I used to wake up from a dream panting, shouting, and crying without even remembering what the dream is all about. But now it was clear like crystal and I woke up refreshed and glad. I pray for more dreams like this!

PS1: How about you, what are your dreams lately? Share them in a post and tag me or just leave a comment below. Would love to read them!

PS2: Do you know that God loves you and is crazy for you? Let that truth sink in. See you around!

 

God is the creator of heaven and earth; of sun, moon and stars; of you and me. Just because He wants us to exist for Him.

 

7 thoughts on “The Gospel and My Dream

Leave a Reply

