3 Reasons Why I Should Not Be Your Tour Guide

1. I don’t have a sense of direction.

I easily get lost. All I know is my way from home to office and vice versa–by bus. I’m not really familiar with the outskirts of Dubai. I can only tour you within the places near the Metro Station. But the Metro is stretched along Sheikh Zayed Road (SZR) for 52km, so I guess, its not that bad. If you don’t mind getting lost, then, hop in!

2. I don’t do tourist-y stuff.

I haven’t been to tourist-y places. I don’t know how much it costs nor how long it takes to get there. But I do know the easiest way to get anywhere in Dubai: Taxi. So if money is not an issue, well, you know, I can tour you around. Plus, we can always google things.

3. I don’t know how to haggle.

I’m not really good at this. If you need some souvenirs, well, I don’t know where to get one. And don’t expect me to haggle the price low for you because I’m not really good at rejections. Haha!

These are the struggles we faced the first time my former officemates visit Dubai. They were in the wrong hands because I am also still new in the city and never had a chance yet to roam around. But they were up for the adventure so we still go around the city and explore.

Their first visit happened last September 2017 then they went back on December 2017. Yes, this post has been sitting in draft for ages.

I missed these peeps so much that I was so excited when I first heard that they are coming over. It feels like someone from home will visit. They are literally a family to me!

Since they were here for business trip, we can only sneak in during weekends. It works for me because I have work, too, on weekdays. I met them at Dubai Mall and we just roam around the mall to start. They are not first timers in Dubai. Imee and Elsa has been previously sent to Dubai already so they’re pretty much familiar of the place (a.k.a., they won’t be thrilled by Dubai Aquarium and Fountain any more, too bad. LOL!).

Though I already heard the news that Momi Els cut her hair short and they call her Jake Zyrus, it is still a shock to me when I first saw her. She used to have a long hair and they used to go together during weekend to have it rebonded. But she’s still that very pretty Momi we always have.

So we went to IBN Battuta after breakfast then head to Abu Dhabi to experience Dune Bashing. It is also my first time to experience this stuff along with them. We are all exhausted after that and went straight to the hotel to rest.

I think pumunta kami sa Gold Souq after that pero hindi ko na maalala. Tapos kinabukasan, hinatid ko na sila sa airport. 😦

But then again, they came back on December! Haha! This time, I’m already armed with places to go and the outskirts of Dubai. I already have suggested places to visit. I’ve done my research.

********

Fast forward 2019, hindi ko na alam kung anong nangyari after their second visit. We sure had a good time! Haha! I’m posting this anyway. When I visited PH last year, I wasn’t able to see them because sobrang limited yung time. So I hope, next year, makita ko na ulit sila. Haha!

7 thoughts on “3 Reasons Why I Should Not Be Your Tour Guide

  1. Hehe, very me.

    Alam ko na pag binigyan ako ng direction halimbawa place to go, i will not get there on my first attempt haha

    Nag enjoy naman kayo, kita ang saya sa bawat ngiti.. at charge to experience anumang sablay hehe

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.